Redwall (Redwall, Book 1)

Redwall (Redwall, Book 1)

Brian Jacques

Language: English

Pages: 352

ISBN: 0142302376

Format: PDF / Kindle (mobi) / ePub


Perfect for fans of C. Alexander London's The Wild Ones, and Mrs. Frisby and the Rats of NIMH.

The question in this first volume is resoundingly clear: What can the peace-loving mice of Redwall Abbey do to defend themselves against Cluny the Scourge and his battle-seasoned army of rats? If only they had the sword of Martin the Warrior, they might have a chance. But the legendary weapon has long been forgotten-except, that is, by the bumbling young apprentice Matthias, who becomes the unlikeliest of heroes. Teeming with riddles, humor, unforgettable characters, and high-bounding adventure, the original Redwall, the launching point for a series that has captured the world's attention, features seven full-color illustrations by renowned illustrator Troy Howell. This new paperback edition is a must-have for both longtime fans and first-time readers.

Tua and the Elephant

Ship Breaker (Ship Breaker, Book 1)

Niccolo Rising (The House of Niccolo, Book 1)

Replay

In the Wake of the Jomon: Stone Age Mariners and a Voyage Across the Pacific

God Emperor of Didcot (Chronicles of Isambard Smith, Book 2)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

blade stood out level in front of him. He sensed how Martin must have felt each time he had held this beautiful weapon. The young mouse knew that he had been born for this moment, his grip causing the tremor of the steel to run through his entire body. It was part of him! Matthias’s main concern was to get safely away with the sword. In the confined space of the snake’s den there was no room to wield the fabled blade. If he struck at Asmodeus, he would be crushed to death against the walls by

for the larders in the event of a prolonged siege. Young otters collected watercress and fished; Cornflower headed a party of mice to reap the early cereal crops; more youngsters tended the salad gardens. The bright summer morning hummed to the bustle of industrious woodlanders. Ambrose Spike, now sufficiently recovered, sat in the storeroom taking stock: lots of nuts and preserved berries from last autumn; apples and pears aplenty. Unfortunately, the hedgehog could not check the cellars;

it. Hopefully he called, “I’ll wait right here for an answer.” The badger grunted noncommittally. She sat down below the parapet out of sight of the fox, and scanned the message. Constance stayed where she was until a reasonable time elapsed, then stood up, panting heavily for effect. “Tell Sela that the Abbot will see her two days from tonight at ten o’clock in Mossflower Wood. She must come to the old tree stump, and mind you tell her—no tricks!” Chickenhound waved the flag. He went

young mouse wherever he chose to wander. At first, Warbeak had raved and threatened. Death was too good for Matthias! Warbeak was going to kill him twice, then cut him up and drop him from the top of a high tree for the worms to feed upon! Matthias had merely tugged the lead sharply and quickened his pace. When the savage young sparrow showed signs of good behavior, Matthias would feed her morsels of candied chestnut. The treatment was working. Outside the gatehouse Matthias rested. He

noticed the young mouse’s evident interest in his surroundings and quickly diverted his attention with a savage kick at the helpless figure. “Whatta mouseworm want in court of King?” he snapped. Matthias, realizing that this was no time for idle chit-chat, promptly shouted out in a loud, courtly manner, “O King, I come to return one of your brave young warriors!” The statement caused an immediate hullaballoo. Bull Sparra flapped his wings once and quiet descended. He cocked his head to

Download sample

Download