The Outcasts: Brotherband Chronicles, Book 1 (The Brotherband Chronicles)

The Outcasts: Brotherband Chronicles, Book 1 (The Brotherband Chronicles)

Language: English

Pages: 464

ISBN: 0142421944

Format: PDF / Kindle (mobi) / ePub


From the author of the global phenomenon Ranger's Apprentice!

They are outcasts. Hal, Stig, and the others - they are the boys the others want no part of. Skandians, as any reader of Ranger's Apprentice could tell you, are known for their size and strength. Not these boys. Yet that doesn't mean they don't have skills. And courage - which they will need every ounce of to do battle at sea against the other bands, the Wolves and the Sharks, in the ultimate race. The icy waters make for a treacherous playing field . . . especially when not everyone thinks of it as playing. John Flanagan, author of the international phenomenon Ranger's Apprentice, creates a new cast of characters to populate his world of Skandians and Araluens, a world millions of young readers around the world have come to know and admire. Full of seafaring adventures and epic battles, Book 1 of The Brotherband Chronicles is sure to thrill readers of Ranger's Apprentice while enticing a whole new generation just now discovering the books.

Perfect for fans of J.R.R. Tolkien’s Lord of the Rings, T.H. White’s The Sword in the Stone, Christopher Paolini’s Eragon series, and George R. R. Martin’s Game of Thrones/A Song of Ice and Fire series.

The Maze Runner Files

Over the Edge: The True Story of the Kidnap and Escape of Four Climbers in Central Asia

Beyond the Shadows (Night Angel, Book 3)

Deep Survival: Who Lives, Who Dies, and Why

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

it in and out according to the wind strength and direction. In an emergency, the order might be given to “let fly the sheets!” The sheets would be released, letting the sail loose and bringing the ship to a halt. (If you were to let fly the sheets, you’d probably fall out of bed.) Way: The motion of the ship. If a ship is under way, it is moving according to its course. If it is making leeway, the ship is moving downwind so it loses ground or goes off course. Back water: To row a reverse

Stig now and shook his head briefly. The message was clear: I won’t call on you again. “Still your pick,” Sigurd prompted Rollond. The boy looked briefly at the remaining choices. “Anton,” he said. Anton, who had been dreading being picked in Tursgud’s group, smiled with relief and hurried to join Rollond before he could change his mind. “Go ahead, Tursgud,” Sigurd ordered. Tursgud hesitated a second, then a broad grin crept over his face. Hal, watching him, knew what he was going to say. “I

nodded. “Good thinking,” he said. “That must be why we made you the boss.” “I thought it was my good looks and sparkling personality,” Hal said. Ingvar, who had been listening, shook his head very deliberately. “No. That was definitely not the reason,” he said. Stefan and Stig grinned. Hal bowed slightly in Ingvar’s direction. “Thanks for pointing that out, Ingvar.” He noticed that Ulf and Wulf had selected two shovels. The tools were identical but that didn’t stop them quarreling over the

front where the twins had dug a release trench. Wulf looked after Hal and grinned at his brother. “He’s quite smart, isn’t he?” he said. Ulf nodded. “He is indeed. A real thinker. Not as smart as us, though.” “No,” said Wulf. He unknotted the cord around his wrist and tied it on his brother’s wrist instead. chapter sixteen The following morning, the Herons were roused from their blankets by Gort, who was banging a hardwood stick on an old barrel hoop, just inside the entrance of the

going after those two on the left,” he said. “Wait till you see Tursgud. He’s got to be in the middle somewhere. He’s got diversions on the left and right. Ignore everyone else and stop him. Understood?” Stig’s teeth flashed in a grin. “It’ll be my pleasure,” he said. Hal felt a moment of hope then. So far, he’d been hoping for a draw in this event. But if Tursgud ran true to form, they could even manage a win. He rose from his crouched position and sprinted to his left, angling toward the spot

Download sample

Download