The Second Spy: The Books of Elsewhere: Volume 3

The Second Spy: The Books of Elsewhere: Volume 3

Jacqueline West

Language: English

Pages: 320

ISBN: 0142426083

Format: PDF / Kindle (mobi) / ePub


In Olive's third adventure in the New York Times bestselling Books of Elsewhere series, what lurks below the house could be as dangerous as what's hidden inside. . .

Some terrifying things have happened to Olive in the old stone house, but none as scary as starting junior high. Or so she thinks. When she plummets through a hole in her backyard, though, Olive realizes two things that may change her mind: First, the wicked Annabelle McMartin is back. Second, there's a secret below-ground that unlocks not one but two of Elsewhere's biggest, most powerful, most dangerous forces yet. But with the house's magical cats acting suspicious, her best friend threatening to move away, and her ally Morton starting to rebel, Olive isn't sure where to turn. Will she figure the mystery out in time? Or will she be lured into Elsewhere . . . and trapped there for good?

A must-read fantasy series for fans of Pseudonymous Bosch, Coraline, and Septimus Heap.

The Singapore Wink

Triss (Redwall, Book 15)

Magic Steps (The Circle Opens, Book 1)

The Terror

The Immortals (The Edge Chronicles, Book 10)

Cold Skin

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

the hillside, twirling and leaping, looking absolutely delighted with itself and its world. And Olive wasn’t wearing the spectacles. She stepped closer to the canvas, inhaling the spicy, smoky scent that was drifting from inside. At the edges of the painting, a furze of trees could be seen, their golden leaves as soft as feathers. And today, the bracken that covered the hillside didn’t look thorny and brown—it had blossomed into an ocean of tiny pink and white flowers. How had she never noticed

forbidden cake, and ended up with a streak of chocolate across her chin.” “I got a bad grade on a math quiz today,” Olive improvised quite honestly, standing as still as she could in hopes that the papers wouldn’t crinkle again. “I was thinking about hiding it in there.” Horatio’s eyes flicked from Olive’s face to the painting. “In there?” The cat seemed to hesitate. “I wouldn’t suggest that. In fact, I would suggest avoiding that painting altogether.” With a swish of his tail, Horatio glided

in or encourage piracy of copyrighted materials in violation of the author’s rights. Purchase only authorized editions. The publisher does not have any control over and does not assume any responsibility for author or third-party websites or their content. Designed by Jennifer Kelly Text set in Requiem Printed in the U.S.A. 1 3 5 7 9 10 8 6 4 2 Library of Congress Cataloging-in-Publication Data West, Jacqueline, date. The second spy / by Jacqueline West; illustrated by Poly Bernatene. p.

The slit of moonlight disappeared. A minute later, she heard a soft creak somewhere in the distance. When the house had sunk back into silence, she slipped into the hallway, closed her bedroom door behind her, and dove into the painting of Linden Street. This time, Morton was waiting for her. When Olive landed with a flump on the dewy ground, his round head popped up just a few yards away, the tufts of his pale hair mingling with the long green grass. “Are you all right?” he asked. “Fine,”

have served yours. I didn’t expect much of you, Leopold,” the painting continued. “You stuffy old fool, always happy to follow orders—anyone’s orders, apparently.” Leopold inflated like a balloon about to pop, but the painting went on. “And as for you, Harvey…” Harvey’s eyes widened. “…You delusional little nit, you’re about as useful as a crack in a china cup.” Harvey’s eyes looked as though they might fall out of their sockets. “How dare you?!” he snarled. “You traitor,

Download sample

Download